Help with online system - no option to choose Tourist Visa

Hi all.

Really struggling with the online system to get a visa sorted for a upcoming trip to Thailand!

I'm a final year medical student heading on a medical elective in March, and i'm in the process of getting my VISA sorted.

I was simply wanting to choose a tourist 60 day visa as I will be doing a combination of placements in Thai hospitals and some sight seeing, so this made sense. However, the online portal won't give me the option to choose a tourist visa. It will only allow me to apply for a Non-Immigrant Visa (ED), as the only option under "purpose of visit" is Internship. However, my girlfriend is filling hers out with me and she isn't having this issue.

I am guessing the issue is due to me being from Northern Ireland, so i'm a UK citizen with an Irish passport. I'm guessing this is confusing the system and it's not giving me all the options. Does any one have any suggestions? Or should I just go through as a Non-Immigrant Visa (ED) and pay the extra costs? I've tried contacting the embassy using the online form but haven't had any response.

On top of this, I would really love to avoid a trip (or 2?) to the embassy in London to get this sorted as i'm in the midst of my final exams and can't take that much time off!

So im really in a bind - would appreciate any help and advice!

Thanks!

11 minutes ago, ConnaireO said:

I was simply wanting to choose a tourist 60 day visa as I will be doing a combination of placements in Thai hospitals and some sight seeing, so this made sense.

If you're doing placements in Thai hospitals then surely a tourist visa is not what you need or applicable?

8 minutes ago, Salerno said:

If you're doing placements in Thai hospitals then surely a tourist visa is not what you need or applicable?

This is where i'm not sure either.