BANGKOK
Burgo1979

Hi, Newbie Post..

Hi, could anyone tell me the steps involved to be able to teach in Thailand?, i've lived here for 15 years, over 50, and looking for a career change.

i have a NON O visa based on marriage to a Thai.

I have no teaching experience, but trying to work out the best place to start. I have no degree, is it possible to teach here with a TEFL/TESOL only if the right opportunity is presented to me?, does experience working amongst thais help?

Any basic advice on a starting point (if any) would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Col

• Sad 1

33 minutes ago, Burgo1979 said:

Thanks, although i know of 2 people who have done it with TEFL only.

Col

Try a language center. Regular MoE schools will in almost instances require a degree. That's the law, anyway. Make sure your employer applies for a work permit for you.

Language school or online teaching. But the hourly rate for online teaching is going down, down, down, as eastern Europeans and other NNESs have become competitors. Maybe you will make 10 dollars an hour online, maybe around the same at a language school. In both cases, being a naive English speaker is a BIG plus (not much higher salary, but easier to secure work).

Teaching online is an option. There are Chinese schools, Thai schools, South American schools, etc. that teach English online. 

Not having a degree will slow you down, but it won't hold you back. No experience? Get creative with work you've done in the past. Possibly there is some overlap that the schools will accept. Good luck!