Hi, Newbie Post..

Burgo1979

Hi, could anyone tell me the steps involved to be able to teach in Thailand?, i've lived here for 15 years, over 50, and looking for a career change.

i have a NON O visa based on marriage to a Thai.

I have no teaching experience, but trying to work out the best place to start. I have no degree, is it possible to teach here with a TEFL/TESOL only if the right opportunity is presented to me?, does experience working amongst thais help?

Any basic advice on a starting point (if any) would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Col

• Sad 1

33 minutes ago, Burgo1979 said:

Thanks, although i know of 2 people who have done it with TEFL only.

Col

Try a language center. Regular MoE schools will in almost instances require a degree. That's the law, anyway. Make sure your employer applies for a work permit for you.

Language school or online teaching. But the hourly rate for online teaching is going down, down, down, as eastern Europeans and other NNESs have become competitors. Maybe you will make 10 dollars an hour online, maybe around the same at a language school. In both cases, being a naive English speaker is a BIG plus (not much higher salary, but easier to secure work).

I knew a woman here a few years ago that taught private lessons in English in Starbucks in Langsuan in BKK. She did individuals and groups. It was all university students. For one person, she charged 500 baht for an hour and then if they brought a friend that she could teach at the same level  she charged 400, 3, 300 and so on. She did it 5 days a week from noon until 5 or 6, back to back classes. It would take a while to build up enough clients to live off it but she managed it. She told me she had one older Thai guy who did his lesson with her in a pub! All he wanted to do was meet once a week for an hour and practise his English. He paid for his lesson and the drinks! Anyway, just a suggestion. 

• Like 1

On February 10, 2020 at 2:35 PM, Burgo1979 said:

Col