BANGKOK
TeacherTango

Who's staying vs who's leaving? Coronavirus edition.

A couple of days ago I decided I was better returning back home to wait out the coronavirus. Everything is progressing so fast and as a teacher I could see that schools were going to get shut down. 

So i'll lose a months salary, my deposit and everything I accumulated here. Safe to say the girlfriends not thrilled. 

Anyone else in the same boat? Who is going to stay in Thailand for lockdown and who plans on getting out of dodge? 

Gonna be a long year.... Keep fighting lads

9 minutes ago, ivor bigun said:

I am home, its been it for 15 years ,our house is here ,my wife and son are here ,i have family in the UK as well ,they are in their home . 

home is where your heart is.

You spot on.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Posted (edited)

I guess if I were you it would depend on how much I have saved and how much you currently spend on rent. You could easily switch to a 2-3K room and sit out 2-3 months with a small budget, no need to spend that much. Or leaving, but then you also waste on a flight ticket, might see schools opening 3 weeks after that and needing to buy a flight again to return here + find a new room. 

Can imagine many teachers are going to have relative big problems because of this, often no savings either and on very tight budgets already.
Maybe I will be affected by it sooner or later too, if a global economic collapse happens, it all becomes a chair dance. Can't know who gets hurt upfront.

If you really go into temporary survival budget mode, get a 3K baht room, you should be able to survive for 2-3 months on <1000 usd.

Edited by ChaiyaTH

Posted (edited)