Anyone DYI curing and drying Salamis and sausages

ezzra

• 3 weeks later...

I have been curing meat and making sausages for a couple of years. Bacon and hams are easy using a frdge, but it tends to be too cold for cured sausage. Had a couple of cases where the bad mold grew faster than the good mold. Looking to get a wine fridge for curing when things get back to normal.

My best was 'Ndjuga' during a cold spell a few years ago during a cold spell when I could hang in the house.

Made a few cheeses that tasted good but are a lot of effort.

Supplies like curing salts, cheese cultures obtained from 'Thai Artisan' in Phuket, they have a web site and are on Facebook. The River Cottage meat curing book has recipes that do not use nitrates/nitrites.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, PBob said:

I have been curing meat and making sausages for a couple of years. Bacon and hams are easy using a frdge, but it tends to be too cold for cured sausage. Had a couple of cases where the bad mold grew faster than the good mold. Looking to get a wine fridge for curing when things get back to normal.

My best was 'Ndjuga' during a cold spell a few years ago during a cold spell when I could hang in the house.

Made a few cheeses that tasted good but are a lot of effort.

Supplies like curing salts, cheese cultures obtained from 'Thai Artisan' in Phuket, they have a web site and are on Facebook. The River Cottage meat curing book has recipes that do not use nitrates/nitrites.

Have you ever thought of fitting a temperature controller to your fridge, all you do is plug your fridge into it, then you can regulate your fridge to whatever temp you so wish. I have used one for years they are very good, all for a few hundred baht.

download.jpeg

2 hours ago, Thingamabob said:

Eating animals is disgusting and cruel.