'Herd Immunity only way out'

R123

Nice troll post. 

As I am not an expert of communicable diseases nor aware of what can be done to cure cases of serious infection then I am not very well placed to agree or disagree. 

Professionals who, on the other-hand, do know what to do I am sure are doing their best to do the right thing.  

Sheryl is correct however as a mate of mine who is waiting to have definitive tests as to whether of not he has cancer, is waiting for CT scans etc because his local hospital is currently preoccupied. 

Edited by VocalNeal
  • Like 1

It is beginning to look more and more like herd immunity is already a foregone conclusion. This virus spread far too long in far too many places before action was taken. It is now just a question of slowing the curve and getting to the point that immunity puts this virus in the corner.

• Like 2

Letting it run its course was largely what 2009 Swine flu pandemic did. The casualty number is not clear, but it was a lot even after several vaccines were made available.

A vaccine, if available and safer than the virus itself, would be welcome before letting it run rampant.

23 minutes ago, Sheryl said:

What is being done in countries where it has reached the level of community spread will also achieve this, but at a slower rate so as to not totally overwhelm health services.

Allowing it to run rampant would get it over with faster but kill far more people, and not just the weakest and not just from COVID. Everyone in need of medical care would be jeopardized.

Thailand is at that stage in your opinion yes or no? 

46 minutes ago, jmccarty said:

Letting it run its course was largely what 2009 Swine flu pandemic did. The casualty number is not clear, but it was a lot even after several vaccines were made available.

A vaccine, if available and safer than the virus itself, would be welcome before letting it run rampant.