BANGKOK
AndyAndyAndy

Which dashcam do you use in Thailand?

I don't really want to invest time to comparing, searching etc etc. Checking out Lazada, Xiaomi seems to be most popular choice. With prices from 900 to 2000 baht. Are they any good for average user?

What are you using and at what price range?

• Like 1

I had good luck with a Xiaomi Yi dash camera, which is in the price range.  Worked fine, and didn't shut down on overheat in the Thai sun.  They have several other interesting models out now, but I have no personal experience with them.  (I also had great luck with a Xiaomi Yi action camera, so I think the brand is solid)

Ultimately though, I went with a MiVue and a Magellan dash cameras with GPS.  (Identical units except for the brand name)  It was worth the extra money to be able to tie some things I found along the way with the GPS location.  With the software, I could view my trip with a map showing where I was when things flashed by.   I had one facing forward, and another one facing the rear.  I'm not sure they're still available on Lazada at all, or for the reasonable price I paid for them a few years back. (3,000 baht each, +/-)

20 hours of recording on a 128GB micro SD card.  And don't cheap out on the SD card.  It needs to be fast... Category 10 (not Cat4), and the faster the better.  

• Like 2

I have had a couple of these models - https://www.viofo.com/

Still using an A119 version. Very unobtrusive.

Most people have plenty of time to spare at the moment so if the OP changes his mind this is a good resource -

https://dashcamtalk.com/ with an extensive forum

• Like 1

The problem is that you need at least 6 months of constant use in order to be able to recommend a dashcam, by which time it will have been superseded by even better models. 

I bought this one off Lazada same 2018!