Growing Chili Peppers in Central Thailand

Cheers all,

Been trying to grow thai chili peppers here in Saraburi in Central Thailand. Over the last year tried a few different varieties of Thai chili seeds an all grow well but when the get close to picking (turning red) they seem like they rot and turn brown.  Have tried different levels of fertilizer, magnesiem and watering the same every evening.  Starts are in plowed soil that corn and cassava grows well.  I even tried putting in a concrete circle that folks usually grow limes in and put soil bought from another area and still the chilis turned half red then started to turn brown.  Missing a nutrient from the soil?  Used 5-10-10 fertilizer once rooted between plants.  Tried 15-15-15 and had nice green plants but still the same problem.  Maybe not enough water?  Water every evening, tried morning and evening to no avail   Maybe the wrong soil to grow chilis?  

I'm no chilli expert, but do as the locals do - chuck the seeds out on any patch of land and then leave them be for a few months. When you go back, violà! You'll have chillies. 

I used to do it the way you are now and I had the exact same results. Since doing it the "Thai way" (i.e. a minimum of care), I've had much better results. 

• Thanks 1

There are a variety of hybrid types that seem to do better than the traditional plants.  We buy established plants for about 10 baht each and they do very well.  Some of the peppers will rot on the plant before picking, but overall, I'd say 90% or better of the peppers are not affected.

Likewise, other hybrid seeds like corn and cucumbers do better than the cheaper traditional kind.  We're friends with a Thai farmer who swears by the corn and peppers, saying yield is much higher and he doesn't have to spray.  Naturally the seeds are more expensive.

• Like 1

Sounds like blossom end rot, this generally occurs due to lack of calcium or using ammonia based fertilizer. 5-10-5 is what i use and havent had problem.