Thai Manfriend Problem

I have a problem. I take it as serious though some of you may see it as funny or stupid. And it is absolutely true; crazy as it may sound. Unlike many of the posters I have seen I do not seem to be having a problem with money grabbers or not being able to find men to talk to or whatever. My problem is a little different. See I am not in Thailand yet and I am finishing up my training for teaching in Thailand. I know, the cliche English Teacher in Thailand. Not quite true. When I was in University I made friends with a couple of guys from Thailand who were getting their degrees as well. I stayed in touch and we have been friends over the years. As I Majored in Sociology and doubled Minored in Social Psychology and Social Anthropology it was kind of natural at the time that my studies focussed on SE Asian studies. So I have always wanted to go to Thailand. Due to circumstances, HIV being one of them, I took early retirement and am extremely bored. I have income but am by no means rich obviously due to my age, 53.

As part of my preparation I was introduced to some of their friends on Facebook and I hit it off with a few of them. Not a problem I figured, as it would be a good idea to know people in different areas of Thailand as I can't know in advance where I might be assigned, and as I will be working with an agency for the first couple years until I get experience actually teaching Thai students and get used to the system in Thailand. Having someone who can meet and greet, take me around, translate, etc... a leg up right? Now let me be clear here. My friends that I met in University are straight, they know I am not and so many of those they introduced me to most emphatically are not. They introduced me to a wide spectrum of men from ladyboys to extremely, and I mean extremely, macho military types. They figured that I would like to make gay friends as well as straight ones.