NETFLIX - some How To questions

Peter Denis

HI, I am interested in giving Netflix a try, but have 3 questions:

1 - I live 'in the sticks' and don't have cable, but use the dTac unlimited data package I have on my Smartphone, and use that as USB-hub to surf the Internet.  On most sites I can watch streaming movies and YouTube videos without any buffering, but not sure whether that would be sufficient to stream NetFlix movies/shows.  

Note: If it is possible to download them, I could of course do that and watch them off-line later.

2 - I did bring the Philips smart TV I bought in Europe some 7 years ago, when I moved to Thailand.  Would it be possible for me - using my smartphone as USB Hub - to connect with the TV as I do with my laptop?  Or would I need a 'Fire-stick' as some posters in other threads recommend?

Note: I am no techie, so I don't know what I am talking about...

3 - When connected to the Internet on my laptop, I have the option to make use of my company's Cisco VPN network, which allows me to log-in on the VPN of almost any country in the world.

When connecting via my VPN would I be able to access the US, British, French, etc netFlix content by simply connecting my VPN to Atlanta, London, Paris, etc.?

>>> Thanks for response!

Hi Peter, 

I'm also not very tech savy, but I would go crazy without UK tv. 

Is your TV able to connect to your WiFi? 

If so, then maybe you don't need a USB connection. 

As for Netflix, I don't use it, but I'm sure that by using a vpn, you will be able to view the content from your desired country, and as for the quality of the Netflix stream, 

I would say its better than streaming websites, and probably the same quality as youtube. 

With regards to you connecting to your TV, you can buy an android tv box from lazada for between 500 and 1500 baht, and can stream Netflix and YouTube on your TV via a hdmi lead using a remote control. There's also a lot of other stuff you can watch, and the cheaper ones work fine.