Finding a Health Insurance

NicolasM

Hello. I am from South America and I am currently studying in Thailand, I plan to live here for the rest of my life (at least for the next 5 years), I already lived here for 2 years now, always with traveler health insurance. Now I am considering getting a health insurance from Thailand, but as I don't wanna pay huge money, I am 23 years old. What would you recommed me to do? I ride a motorcycle... so I think I definitely need some kind of insurance for myself in case something happen. Thank you very much.

Yes, certainly you need insurance if yo uwill be living here.  At your age there is abundant choice.

You do not need to get a health insurance "from Thailand" i.e. a Thai compnay to be insured in Thailand and it is usually better not to.  There are many solid international companies that issue policies specifically for expatriates. It is best to work through a broker as they can provide comparison charts and also help afterwards wioth any claims. You:ll want to make sure motorcycle accidents are covered

I use AA Brokers, www.aainure.net and have been very happy with the, they specializer in expat policies.

• Like 1

250K medical cover will not go far at all. For older people that is the best you can get but for someone OP:s age can do better

Ask broker about this also. And check with whatever bank you use, some offer PA policies to their customers

It is nto absolutely necessary to have PA policy as main health insurance will cover hospitalization due to accident. However they are inexpensive and have the advantage of also including outpatient care.  While you can get a main health policy that includes outpatient the premiums are so high as to not be worth it so most people get hospitalization only.

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, Sheryl said:

250K medical cover will not go far at all. For older people that is the best you can get but for someone OP:s age can do better