Rediscovering the Beatles

18 hours ago, Pilotman said:

Great memories, evoked by brilliant music. I wonder if the younger spotify generation will have similar tracks to evoke their memories?  

My generation grew up listening to wonderful music that accompanied our lives, so we remember our lives  as they happened when we hear a particular song.

Perhaps that still happens, but when I hear what they are listening to ( when I can't avoid it ) I don't think it's memorable enough to even be repeated in their future.

• Like 2

I am currently doing some research for a project I am working on. This year being the 60th anniversary year of The Beatles I decided to build a guitar based on a cushion cover I found at a factory sale in Korat. All will be revealed in good time. The guitar is to be donated to raise money for charity. I didn't feel that I could build the guitar without doing research and learning a lot that I didn't know. What was behind the music? I am still learning but in a few months I have collected a lot of information and some pieces of memorabilia, which I will also donate. Even though I lived through the era when The Beatles gained national recognition in the UK I never looked beyond the music. What has surprised me is that there are many fans among generations who were not even born when The Beatles were together. 

I regularly start at Please Please Me album and go consecutively until Let It Be. What a great musical education. I also do it with The Beach Boys albums, even a greater change from Surfin' to God Made the Radio.

But of course, only 7 years of Beatles, 50 for The BBs.

Edited by stouricks
  • Like 2

Love the Beatles too, never wrote a bad song. You've prompted me to play them aagain soon.

My take on your rainy day nostalgia trip is with a chronological playing of Lez Zeppelin albums. Many memories invoked.

1 hour ago, kenk24 said:

Paul, a bit too sweet