Work Permit self employed

Sorry if this had been mentioned in the past, but please bear with me and help if you can. 

Planning on moving to Thailand soon, and wish to set up a small business, I am a collector and trader of coins, amulets etc.

I was looking at working under the radar but would feel better doing it right, I also may go partners in a small cafe/bar with a family friend (Thai) who is related to my ex Thai wife (I also have a son in Thailand), but was good friends with me in UK.

I heard you need a lot of cash to set up a Thai company and need Thai partners? 

How do I get a visa/WP for being self emplyed?

• Haha 1

1 hour ago, ubonjoe said:

You have to be working for a Thai company or partnership to get a work permit. You cannot get one if you are self employed.

Thanks Joe, so if I set up a Thai company with 3 Thai partners they would apply for the WP for me, makes sense.

Think I'll just get a Thai friend to apply for one for me and "work" as an advisor for their company, less hassle.

On 6/6/2020 at 9:01 PM, spoon1967 said:

Thanks Joe, so if I set up a Thai company with 3 Thai partners they would apply for the WP for me, makes sense.

Think I'll just get a Thai friend to apply for one for me and "work" as an advisor for their company, less hassle.

Please remember, work permits are job and company specific. Possession of a work permit does not allow you to take up any employment or to work for any  company desired. The work permit will simply allow you to work for the company and in the position listed in the work permit. 

• Like 1

10 hours ago, qwertyuiop said:

Please remember, work permits are job and company specific. Possession of a work permit does not allow you to take up any employment or to work for any  company desired. The work permit will simply allow you to work for the company and in the position listed in the work permit. 

That is no longer true.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, henry15 said: