Sushi that STINKS

Sundown

I tried at least 3 times buying sushi (the one in transparent box) at Central and all 3 times the fish had a smell that was a mix of sewage and my garbage with rotten eggs in it after 1 week. 

Lately I've been at a sushi place, Thai owned but not one of those poorly made. A real restaurant with 5 stars reviews. The salmon smelled the same. I told the waiter that the fish is not good and they said they could use the flame on it LOL. I said, ok well go on!!!

I'm not an expert in fish but I really doubt that Central is selling rotten fish. Is the garbage smell depending on the plastic container, humidity and so on? Or it is actually rotten?

• Like 2

Typical situation for cheap premade sushi/rolls. Usually in restaurants fish is very fresh and never smell bad, of course it is not that cheap. 

First sign of old fish on sushi: salmon looks glitter, there is internal fat on top, next stage is bad smell. 

Edited by clearance

45 minutes ago, Eindhoven said:

I buy a whole salmon to create my own Sashimi and Sushi. There should be no off smell.

From what I've read (again, I'm no expert) the raw fish used for sashimi has to undergo a process of freeze at low temperatures otherwise it's not suitable to be eaten as it is? I've always wanted to try but kinda scared so I always end up preparing rolls with smoked salmon .

I would never eat any raw fish in Thailand or any other country with doubtful hygiene. Also., Those stalls where you can choose your own sushi in Central and elsewhere are absolutely disgusting.  

44 minutes ago, northsouthdevide said:

When I first encountered sushi, many years ago back in the UK, I remember being told never to buy it unless freshly made and refrigerated. 

Ive never seen that here in Thailand. 

27 minutes ago, geisha said: