Going to the labor department

I have no personal experience, but have read various reports from foreigners saying the Labour Dept. is very helpful. Some have even said that a telephone call from the Labour Dept. to the school has been enough to solve the problem.

2 hours ago, username415 said:

Thanks for the info.  Yes, I do have a work permit.  

Has anyone here done this, or something similar before? 

Do you have a copy of your contract?  If you are talking about pay for months school was closed, you may not be entitled to it.  There were even specific laws in the US to prevent school employees from collecting unemployment once the school year ended.  If you give more specifics, you will get good answers.  A number of foreign teachers have won in Labour Court, but usually it involved severance pay.  I would make most of those bastards pay me first, or at least take care of all my paperwork at their expense, without a hellish minibus trip to Vientiane.

We agreed to not be paid while school was closed, but that was under the assumption that the missed months would just be canceled and we would keep the old calendar.   They just moved the missed months to October and March though so we'll be teaching the full 12 months worth of teaching but only getting paid 10 months. 

The contract has the agreement to not be paid but also includes no students in October and March.

59 minutes ago, username415 said:

We agreed to not be paid while school was closed, but that was under the assumption that the missed months would just be canceled and we would keep the old calendar.   They just moved the missed months to October and March though so we'll be teaching the full 12 months worth of teaching but only getting paid 10 months. 

The contract has the agreement to not be paid but also includes no students in October and March.

What months will you be teaching, and not getting paid?