Retirement Extention

I went to Jomtien Immigration today for my annual retirement extension. I have been doing it for 8 years with 800,000 baht in the bank,,, everything was in order, then was told I need Health Insurance,, surprise, surprise. I am now trying to get the cheapest LMG insurance. I am married to a Thai lady and we have a little girl. If I did the married extension would I still need insurance ? I came to Thailand from Canada 10 years ago on a Non-OA visa.

The Non-OA visa you entered on many years ago is why you need insurance.

You can apply for a one year extension based upon marriage that does not require insurance. You will only need 400k baht in the bank to apply for it and no need to keep it the bank for 3 months either.

• Like 2

Just now, glegolo said:

Yes, you have A Non  O-A which your extensions was based on, so you need to get another VISA, NOT O-A, to get away from that health insurance demand

He is married to a Thai so he can apply for an extension based upon marriage that does not require insurance.

• Like 1

12 minutes ago, ubonjoe said:

He is married to a Thai so he can apply for an extension based upon marriage that does not require insurance.

Great, so now I  know that. Thought that what you have as a base VISA-wise was what matters....

thanks

glegolo

Edited by glegolo

OP, as Ubonjoe mentioned base extension on marriage means you do not require insurance. However given the timing and fact you would have everything in place for you extension based on retirement you could still consider that option. If you go down that path just be aware that the insurance policy would need to commence day of application. I would have insurance start day prior to application. @Peter Denis

This guy can advise you on insurance cost etc if required.