BANGKOK
Seik

Volunteer visa via agent?

Posted (edited)

Hi,

Like some of you I was "offered" a volunteer visa by an agent (can I name them?). I'm on amnesty (visa exemption) with no thai family.

I've never used an agent before, how legal / safe / reliable would that be? I don't know if I'm even comfortable leaving my passport in their hands.
I'm also in the process of an Elite visa application but I'm afraid it won't be complete in time for 26 of Sept. Any experience or knowledge welcome.

Edited by Seik

Only use an agent if absolutely necessary.

• Thanks 1

Posted (edited)

Are you in or out of Thailand? If you are inside Thailand, best to consult your Elite agents.

Edited by Fromas

37 minutes ago, Fromas said:

Are you in or out of Thailand? If you are inside Thailand, best to consult your Elite agents.

I'm in Thailand. The Elite people tell me the first part of the process takes 1 to 2 months, not much they can do about that since my application is in the hands of Immigration. I've got good hopes for it though!

Tell the agents you can't sleep at nights for fear of hitting Sept 26 without a valid permission to stay and ask them if they have a definitive solution.

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

They did offer that definitive solution, 65K for 15 months total, the problem is that's on paper and I'm afraid of backfire. A "Volunteer" visa without doing any volunteering seems strange. I'd rather go the legit way if I can.

Edited by Seik
  • Like 2

Posted (edited)

65K for an interim solution is excessive. Politely negotiate for something that will tide you over until the Elite kicks in. Don't be a pushover.

Those guys have creative resources at their disposal.

If it bothers you that much, join a few meetings and work activities at the place where you have volunteered. 

Edited by Fromas

You would need a WP, to volunteer... 

ED visa is also possible. Talk to your agents.

17 hours ago, moontang said:

You would need a WP, to volunteer...