Volunteer visa via agent?

Hi,

Like some of you I was "offered" a volunteer visa by an agent (can I name them?). I'm on amnesty (visa exemption) with no thai family.

I've never used an agent before, how legal / safe / reliable would that be? I don't know if I'm even comfortable leaving my passport in their hands.
I'm also in the process of an Elite visa application but I'm afraid it won't be complete in time for 26 of Sept. Any experience or knowledge welcome.

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply
37 minutes ago, Fromas said:

Are you in or out of Thailand? If you are inside Thailand, best to consult your Elite agents.

I'm in Thailand. The Elite people tell me the first part of the process takes 1 to 2 months, not much they can do about that since my application is in the hands of Immigration. I've got good hopes for it though!

They did offer that definitive solution, 65K for 15 months total, the problem is that's on paper and I'm afraid of backfire. A "Volunteer" visa without doing any volunteering seems strange. I'd rather go the legit way if I can.

65K for an interim solution is excessive. Politely negotiate for something that will tide you over until the Elite kicks in. Don't be a pushover.

Those guys have creative resources at their disposal.

If it bothers you that much, join a few meetings and work activities at the place where you have volunteered. 

From what I understand about the new Amnesty you can apply for a 30 day extension up to 26 September so this would take you into October 

Anyone please feel free to correct me on this

As long as it's possible to convert this extension to a Elite then why not explore this option?

24 minutes ago, ifmu said:

i dont think so but could be wrong   i am on the same visa but thai wife  double check it 

https://www.thaiembassy.com/thailand/working-thailand.php#:~:text=Even volunteer or charity work,still to be given priority.