Does your air con system in Thailand have 'safety cut'

bbabythai

I have zero electrical knowledge and thus asking questions about a proposed new air con system. 

We have to install a few new 48,000 btu air con machines. The electricians have done all wiring for this and lights in the ceiling now and the next step is to run the pipes etc for the new machines in the ceiling before the gypsum is installed. The sparkie installed 5 wires for each new air con system which goes back to the big elec box on the 2nd floor. They said there is no 'safety cut' on that big box for the proposed air con machines. I think he said it was 3 phase or something going back to the box

The air con guy said 'its normal in thailand'. Most of the systems he installs dont have safety cuts he said. 

Is this ok? Any risks? If an electrical anomaly happens then can it cause an incident at the big elec box. I dont want anyone getting hurt. Obviously any user will be using an air con remote to turn on/off the machine. 

thanks again for helping me 

I completely disagree. IMO, in Thailand it's essential to fit a SafeTCut 12 Way big box circuit breaker (or better) to meet above RCD/RCBO standards, because I would normally mistrust ANY Thai electrician, especially an Air Con fitter, to be completely qualified to western standards. Even if the Aircon is minimal risk, there could be some point in the future when you'll need additional or replacement electrical wiring and switches.    

As for the present box - if I read it correctly - you're at risk with your current electricity supply not being set up to safety cut other installations - and as stated above, earthing is essential.  

Bottom line, if you're going to all this trouble setting up an aircon palace, do it properly, and get a recommended qualified electrician expert  - preferably an ex-pat - to advise on the wiring installation. 

Edited by stephenterry
add