Thai Resident

Hi, 

I am living in Thailand, on a retirement extension of stay visa. I was asked a question, am I a Thai resident.

So am I classed as a Thai resident?

The reason for this question is, I am a non-resident citizen of the UK so I don't pay tax on Dividends from uk companies. 

Thai rules state, if I am a non-resident in Thailand I don't need to file a tax return. If I am a Thai resident I have to file a tax return and pay tax on any income.

36 minutes ago, Selwyn said:

I have to file a tax return and pay tax on any income.

I've read that this is not so. You do not have to pay tax on foreign income if the income is brought into the country in the year after you received it. So if you have dividends and keep them on a UK bank account till january the next year you do not have to pay anything.

This was how I understood it. It can be smart to get professional advice if you worry.

Apart from laws and regulations, I do not believe that the Thai tax authorities can find out how much income you receive from abroad.

Ok Thanks for your help. Yes it is the same as Sweden but income payed in dividends from the UK, as a Non Res citizen, is exempt from tax.

I think, as you advise, seek professional help

9 minutes ago, Selwyn said:

Ok Thanks for your help. Yes it is the same as Sweden but income payed in dividends from the UK, as a Non Res citizen, is exempt from tax.

I think, as you advise, seek professional help

I am an Australian citizen and live here in Thailand as a non-resident, and invest in the Australian Stock Exchange.