Retirement extension - latest from Phang Nga

5 hours ago, auntyedna said:

Oh yes!!  They had a TERRIFIC time!  But having dealt with govt departments when I was working as an engineer, I am only too aware of how doors slam shut around you if you lose your rag or act British.  I was even told by one Thai colleague, when I was suffering breach of contract from a govt department, that it is considered "impolite" to refer to the contract!  So yes - sickly smile around gritted teeth - they handled me to their satisfaction... but I got my extension.

I get it. This happens a lot over in this country. At the end you got your extension, so nothing more is needed. Good for you!

However, my immigration officer do not handle me like a football, and he knows that.

• Like 1

Please clarify what this means:  Passport copies showing TWO double pages per sheet of A4, despite no photographic reduction, will be REJECTED.  They only accept one double page per sheet. Does that mean each single page in the passport must be photocopied separately, as opposed to the two adjacent pages together? If so, what a waste of paper! I'm hoping Chonburi Immigration is not so wasteful. I never had the issue in several years of extensions at Chiang Wattana in BKK. 

• Confused 1

What does 'act British' mean?

Not to refer to the contract...? why have a contract?

We all know the rules and know they can be interpreted differently by each Immigration Office. We also know that each Immigration Office has its own way of doing things.

Experience has shown me to 'over prepare ', in exactly the same way as I used to have to for and during an Aviation Authority regulatory compliance audit.

It also showed me, each regulatory authority auditor had their own interpretations of the rules and that would likely change with auditor.each