FamilyMart looks to halt Asia losing streak after Thailand retreat

webfact

FamilyMart looks to halt Asia losing streak after Thailand retreat

Japanese convenience store operator counts on trading house Itochu for comeback

SHIHO MIYAJIMA, KENTA ANDO and MARIMI KISHIMOTO, Nikkei staff writers

fm.jpg

FamilyMart has decided to withdraw from directly managing convenience stores in Thailand. (Photo by Marimi Kishimoto)

TOKYO/BANGKOK -- For convenience store operator FamilyMart, the sign of trouble in Thailand may be traced back to its fraught rollout of Japanese oden stew pots to unfamiliar customers. 

The offering, widely popular in the home market, never gained much traction. "I have never tried that before," said one customer coming out of the store. "I don't like the fish smell," commented another.

With lackluster results in the broader market, symbolized by the oden flop, FamilyMart in May transferred its 49% stake in its Thai joint venture to partner and local conglomerate Central Group, marking an effective exit.

Full story: https://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Retail/FamilyMart-looks-to-halt-Asia-losing-streak-after-Thailand-retreat

nk.jpg

-- © Copyright Nikkei Asian Review 2020-08-10

12 minutes ago, scorecard said:

Good summary and good question.

But is it more to do with how clever the marketing folks are at 7/11, especially their strategies to get people through the door. About 5 years back I tasked my Thai MBA students, in small teams to study and define the step by step marketing strategies of 7. The Case Study labelled the 7/11 Supply and Value Chain.