Thailand in top 3 of World’s most avid readers, apparently ????

Snackbar

World Reading Habits latest ‘survey’ claims the average Thai citizen reads more than any other being on Earth, except an Indian.

This isn’t Thai bashing, this is a topic of serious interest and influences ‘Life Long Learning’ of which the Government spends 5% of gdp, 20% of annual expenditure and has had 21 Education Ministers in 20 years. 

Look deeper and Thailand‘s 15 year old international students are in the 4th division of English proficiency ‘reading’ ranked 66 of 78. OECD member countries by The Program for International Student Assessment (PISA).

I’m a uni language teacher and my students are collection of mainly A1 and a minority B1, despite my institution recommendation to teach at B1-B2 level. 

Each English language course is equally divided into Listening & Speaking, reading and grammar. The students accept the content but display little respect for reading. 

For example a reading lesson has clear instructions to ‘read’ an email and generate and answer obvious ‘critical thinking’ questions.

The propensity of the majority is to ignore the instructions, ‘Read the email’ and instead attempt to answer the question.

Of course TIT and attempt to answer translates into asking a friend for the ‘correct’ answer. 

Weird isn’t it?

Show them a video of the Aesop Fabel, ‘The Hare and The Tortoise‘ Ask them

Who wins the race the hare or the tortoise and why?

The universal answer is.

The Turtle wins. 

Clear evidence that.

They knew part of the answer without taking the 5 seconds required to read the question carefully. 

Although their answer is incorrect, we know there isn’t a turtle in the race, they display enthusiasm and understanding but completely miss the point.

Fascinating.