Online Lessons VS Classroom Lessons

johnray

Having now been both a teacher and a student in online classes I feel I have enough knowledge to discuss the pros and cons of studying online and normally in a classroom.

As a student I think there are many benefits to online learning.  It is cheaper than classroom education and you can study from anywhere in the world.  Online lessons are particularly useful for learning a language.  Italki, a website and app designed for learning languages, is a really good way to learn languages.  Even an entire university course can be taught online.  We have to bear in mind university courses have zero hands-on experience.  You just sit and watch a powerpoint.  Software like zoom can host lectures and the student can easily study at home.  I have even studied courses that don't even have a teacher in them.  It is just a book and an online exam.

As a teacher I find that teaching online is easier because there is already an acknowledgment by the student that they must behave.  Whereas in the classroom they accept anyone.  Students that don't want to behave are allowed in the classroom and this disrupts the entire lesson.  As a result the lesson is dumbed down.  Humanity is at the speed of the slowest.

Online those students that can not handle sitting and reading do not attend the lesson.  As a result I have found the standard is higher in online lessons.  It is also useful that the parents are often present which forces the child to behave.

The negative side is many students can not handle online lessons.  They need to be in a classroom and have the teacher control them constantly.  If your child is advanced and mature enough I feel it would be good to study online as they will have a tailored lesson that fits their level and not a dumbed down lesson with excessive games and silly noises.