Yearly Reporting for Permanent Resident

I am a Permanent Resident of Thailand. Every year I will need to go to extend the yearly stay after expiry and also the Re-entry Permit. I checked with the website and it is claimed that Permanent Residency does not need to apply for extension of stay (which is a privelege for PR). Can anyone (or Ubonjo) help to clarify this issue. I mean why apply for Permanent Resident when it is still mandatory to extend the stay. I understand the need for Re-entry permit. 

I also have PR, and the local Police station said report again in 5 years or update them on any change of address.  But I need to go out of Thailand for a 2 year fixed term assignment, so I need to get a Re-entry Permit before I leave, and return to Thailand to get another Re-entry permit within the 12 months.  I hope travel is easier next year!

Apart from that, I don't think there's any other reporting requirements?

• Like 1

2 hours ago, ubonjoe said:

If you have permanent residency you do not have to do anything at immigration unless you plan on leaving the country.

The only thing you have to is to report to you local police every 5 years that you are still living at the same place or if you move to change to a new address.

Thanks a lot, ubonjoe

Any advice as to why immigration needs to stamp on my white permanent residency book whenever I go for my re-entry permit. 

50 minutes ago, bobeychao said:

Any advice as to why immigration needs to stamp on my white permanent residency book whenever I go for my re-entry permit. 

Just to have a additional record of the re-entry permit. It might come in handy if you lost your passport.

On 10/17/2020 at 11:32 AM, bobeychao said:

I have obtained the Permanent Resident long ago and have the white book permanent residency certificate of residence.