Can't "Catch a Wave"

Shot

2003 Honda Wave 100, is hard to start, idles rough, and when throttle applied it stalls at about 1500rpm.

Water in the fuel, bad spark? I am a semi-qualified Shade Tree Mechanic, and would appreciate any thoughts before I tear into it.

My first thoughts?

Check the spark plug.

Check air filter if here is still one.

Buy a bottle of fuel system cleaner bung some into the tank and let it idle for 15mins or more then let it stand for a few hours. Then try again. 

• Like 1

Replace the spark plug and the spark plug cap.

Remove the plastic shi_e and check if there's a vacuum controlled valve that lets fuel through when the engine is turning.

Check if the fuel contains water, if so let all out. 

Take brake cleaner or starter fluid and spray it around the carb. If the RPM's got up, you've got a vacuum leak.

Anyway time to overhaul the carb, it's an easy job. 

• Like 2

Just now, teacherclaire said:

Replace the spark plug and the spark plug cap.

Remove the plastic shi_e and check if there's a vacuum controlled valve that lets fuel through when the engine is turning. ( Just follow the fuel line)

Check if the fuel contains water, if so let all out. 

Take brake cleaner or starter fluid and spray it around the carb. If the RPM's got up, you've got a vacuum leak.

Anyway time to overhaul the carb, it's an easy job. 

• Like 1

Some villages water down their fuel, relying on the ethanol content to hide the scam.

Easiest way to clear water from a tank is to add methylated spirits, to restore the fuel to a single liquid phase.

As other posters have suggested, drain the fuel is another option. However, rinsing the system with methylated spirits will work better, as separated water tends to stick to any rubber or plastic.

• Like 1

When did you have the last service on this bike? Do you use this bike frequently?

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/826702/Honda-Wave-110i.html

Consider (check, clean or change):
* Spark plug,
* Air filter,