Getting from UK to Thailand: practicalities

4 hours ago, Thaiophil said:

Full Covid insurance as per Thai requirement would add extra cost. Mine was already covered by my work

Excellent report.One question if you don't mind.Many of us have work or private insurance covering the COVID risk already.Can one just show the policy or is a letter required from the insurance company needed confirming the specific Thai requirement on cover?

31 minutes ago, ronaldo0 said:

Is the COVID insurance with a Thai company or uk ? If I return and have to take out covid insurance with a Thai company as well as insurance I have then it will cost me around 20-40,000bht more as I will be living there all year .

I am not an expert, but it likely depends on which visa you are applying for. For the “retirement” visas(O-A, O-X), you need a Thai policy covering the full length of your stay. My visa was work related so our office corporate  health insurance was enough

• Like 1

19 minutes ago, jayboy said:

Excellent report.One question if you don't mind.Many of us have work or private insurance covering the COVID risk already.Can one just show the policy or is a letter required from the insurance company needed confirming the specific Thai requirement on cover?

as just replied to another poster, I think it is driven by the type of visa you have or will get

10 minutes ago, Peter Denis said:

Thanks for this report.  Very helpful for those considering a similar track.

One question > You didn't mention it but for which Visa did you apply that was eligible for the CoE?

mine was non-immigrant F, but the types of visa allowing COE are set out on the Thai Embassy website and you will find numerous threads on the same

Had I not been able to get a visa through work, I researched the O-A as a fallback and it seems not so hard to get if over 50

• Thanks 1

8 hours ago, Thaiophil said: