Firefox - numerous issues

Speedo1968

It started when Firefox would not load properly and having to close and retry, eventually it stopped loading altogether.
I deleted anything I could find related to Firefox ( I am not a techie so probably missed things ).
I installed again, still having same problems.
Any ideas and yes I have tried Brave but find it strange to work with ?

i've long liked firefox, from a purely user point of view, but the recent update of the tablet app was awful, it was really un-userfriendly so i deleted it and use crome, which, imho, is not as good as the old firefox but is better than the new! so many 'improvements' in technology actually result in a worse use experience.

however the new firefox on my notebook seems fine and not to different, from a user point of view, to the previous version.

Assuming you are using Windows, most likely the problem is somewhere in

C:\Users\[your_user_name]\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles

where [your_user_name] is your Windows login.  For whatever reason FF settings tend to go south after a while, it's been this way for ages.

The easiest way to clean it up is delete the contents of the directory, then start FF, all clean as new, and will create a new subdirectory in Profiles.  The consequence of doing this is all your specific settings and add-ons will be gone.  I am suggesting this brute force method because you said "I am not a techie."  I'm sure others can give you more involved ways to troubleshoot this.  But you can at least backup your bookmarks (Bookmarks->Show all bookmarks->Import and backup->Backup) and restore them after the cleanup.

18 minutes ago, bendejo said:

The easiest way to clean it up is delete the contents of the directory, then start FF, all clean as new, and will create a new subdirectory in Profiles. 

Deleting the profile will also delete user names and passwords; thus, before doing that, try starting Firefox in Safe Mode: