vivo android phone can receive emails but not send

soalbundy

I am a complete novice with mobile devices. The keyboard on my computer gave up the ghost and my stepdaughter is trying to drag me into the 21st century so she presented me with her vivo 6 android smart phone as she has bought a new one. i thought that since everybody in my household has such a device they could help me but it turns out they only use them for a few functions, my son plays games, my wife and step daughter watch YouTube, facebook and telephone with them. I know more about the device than they do in the past few days I have played with it.

Problem, although I have sent emails with it, i can't now although I can receive them, it is synced with my Gmail on my computer. i have looked through the settings as a novice and can find nothing wrong. I am trying to send from home sitting next to my modem. Any suggestions ?  i am writing this from a virtual keyboard on my computer.

If your email account is by a non-google email provider then you may need to examine the account configuration settings to see if they match what the email provider requires for both send and receive. If you only use Gmail or Google Workplace (formally G Suite for business) account(s) then the app should just work.

The Gmail app is usually very reliable.

Is the app or phone showing you any error messages or pop-ups?

2 hours ago, RichCor said:

If your email account is by a non-google email provider then you may need to examine the account configuration settings to see if they match what the email provider requires for both send and receive. If you only use Gmail or Google Workplace (formally G Suite for business) account(s) then the app should just work.

The Gmail app is usually very reliable.

Is the app or phone showing you any error messages or pop-ups?