how to paint cinder blocks to last longer

CNX69

Never painted Four year old fence needs update. 

Friends tell me get professionals and they will do for you. Yes, easy buy I have a lot of time just need knowledge. 

HomePro told me to get mold remover, primer and paint. 

I am just wondering how long will paint last in this climate. 

1.jpg.b8a5483ed7624e7663d8f222581035fe.jpg

2.jpg

As said above, make sure you use a good primer and buy a good brand of paint I always buy Dulux weathershield it will last and not wash off, certain part of my house gets hammered in the rain after 5 years it's still ok and you can wash it down 

• Like 1

HomePro told me to get mold remover, primer and paint

You'd end up using a ton of (expensive) primer with a mediocre result.

I'd use a super thin coat of cement-based skim render applied with a roller and smoothed with a Venetian trowel as a base. Paint on top of this after a coat of primer.

Edited by Morakot

6 hours ago, CNX69 said:

ThankYou for all practical advises. 

I can scrub/clean and I can do "cement-based skim render applied with a roller". It it possible to apply some clear coat or a sealer to have gray cement look. 

A 25 kg bag like this should cover about 20 sqm (1 mm tick): https://www.jorakay.co.th/en/product/crocodile-skim-coat-sanded.html

Standard colour range: grey or white. If you want to keep it grey, you may not need coats of paint or sealer. Although they may  slow down the turning green a bit.

PS: Render like this is normally put on with a trowel. But you can use a roller if you add a little bit more water and moisten the surface. The joints will still be visible if you do it like this.

Edited by Morakot

5 hours ago, Morakot said:

A 25 kg bag like this should cover about 20 sqm (1 mm tick): https://www.jorakay.co.th/en/product/crocodile-skim-coat-sanded.html