New beginner bike advice - RE650/Himalayan/Kawasaki W250 - ??

Genmai

Hi all,

Newbie here looking to get into motorcycles and hoping some more experienced members can give me some advice.

My riding experience is very limited, just driving some clunky 2 stroke clutch thing on forest roads as a kid at home and here in Thailand just sitting on the backs of scooters. I've driven a scooter a few times before and honestly keeping the feet placed in front like that feels very unnatural. Much prefer straddling the machine like with a real motorcycle, that feels less awkward to me.

I will be taking lessons at a driving school and practicing in the moobaan and Sunday mornings on empty roads before attempting anything else. Not a fan of speed. Obviously a newbie but I just can't help being captivated by motorcycles every time I see one. In particular those kind of retro-classic style naked things I think are super cool. 

I'm looking for a beginner-friendly motorcycle that will be used mainly for getting around town (CM) and eventually when I'm more experienced I'd like to go to national parks on camping trips. 183cm and 90kg, can lift heavy no problem. I'm looking at the royal enfield interceptor 650 which reportedly has great comfort and enough power to get around - but not enough to do anything crazy. The RE Himalayan seems to be geared towards more rugged terrain and crappy roads which is an option that would be nice to have in the future. One potential issue of RE is the lack of service/spare parts in TH if I need something replaced. Seems like Honda/Kawasaki have a much better network here? For this reason I'm also looking at the Kawasaki W250. It's in the same price range as the 650 but not as much bang for your buck? Kawasaki also has an adorable (and more affordable) W175 which I like the look of.