New Rider, "Is it ok to go for big bike?"

screwman

This is my first post in Thaivisa. I am 3 months to 55. Living in Bangkok for past 15 years. Never have a bike license. I have a Filano for me to go from home to 7-Eleven.

Since a teen many years ago I dream of having a big bike. Now that I am getting older I was thinking there's not much time left and I gotta do it now or never. So I intend to go get my riding license and after that go get a big bike (750-1200cc type). I have absolutely no experience riding on open roads. Is it advisable to get my dream bike soon after getting my license or better to wait and ride a normal bike to gain experience first? I drive a lot in Thailand though as I am a salesman.

• Like 1
  • Confused 1
  • Haha 1

8 hours ago, hydraides said:

Riding a 750cc+ bike in Bangkok, Sorry but that's a death sentence waiting to happen, even if you are experienced......you would be nuts to ride a powerful bike around Bangkok. Too many cars skipping lights, way too busy with too much traffic, crazy minibus drivers and pickup drivers etc etc. Thailand is in top 5 countries in the world for road deaths. 

Even if you're riding in somewhere like Koh Samui, its a bit better but not by much.....

My advice just don't do it.....

Thank you. My plan is to go upcountry with my colleagues who does this often in their big bikes. I don’t plan to use it for traveling within Bangkok though.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, tonray said:

Since you've been riding illegally for years...why change now with a big bike ?

oh I have not really ridden except going to convenient stores near home talking about 2-4km on minor roads. Completely no experience on major roads.getting a big bike is a dream to travel with friends to countryside 

4 hours ago, NCC1701A said:

if you don't know how to ride a big bike the first thing that will happen is you will drop it.