Problems with installing an APK file om my Android TV

giddyup

Bear with me as I'm a complete novice to this kind of thing. I want to install BeeTV (cracked) to my Sony Android TV so I downloaded the APK file from a torrent site and transferred to a USB drive. I also installed a Downloader from the Play Store, but when I open the USB stick it shows it as empty, but the file is definitely there, so what am I doing wrong?

35 minutes ago, KannikaP said:

You are trying to install a cracked APK file onto a Sony Android TV from a USB stick.   LOL.....

H N Year to you.

Hey, guess what SA? I downloaded the APK file to my Android TV using a USB stick.

8 minutes ago, Mike Teavee said:

Titanium, Typhoon & Cinema HD here... 

All found easily on Filelinked 

And where do I download Filelinked, Playstore? And once installed how do I get Titanium, Typhoon and Cinema HD?

Edited by giddyup
  • Like 1

I tried using the USB method to get apk files onto my Android TV device (a Xiaomi Mi Box S as it happens) but I found it a bit cumbersome. I also found, as you apparently have that the file manager on the Android TV box sometimes wouldn't read the USB stick properly and wouldn't find the apk files. Other times it would, so it was a bit frustrating as you never knew it it was going to work or not.

I found this, a purely software-based approach which I think is a lot easier.

Send Files to TV

I'm just not 100% sure, because it's a while ago and I'm not in front of my TV right now, if the apk is directly installable on the Android TV device via the Playstore but I think it is.

It's certainly available on the Playstore for Android phones or tablets.

Once you've transferred the files to the Android TV device, you also need to use your file manager to "find" and install the transferred .apk file. I use FX but there are a number of different file managers you could use, so if you already have one you like, you could use that.

• Like 1

26 minutes ago, giddyup said: