Teaching English as a non native speaker?

Aurelien

Hi everybody,

Maybe this has already been answered if so, please link me to the relevant topic...

I'm from Belgium, and I wish to teach in Thailand. I have a Bachelor's degree in modern languages from University. Alternatively, I would also like to teach music (guitar) in Thailand.

I know that as a non native speaker, I will probably have a harder time finding a teaching job. Does getting a TEFL diploma helps?

Teaching online might be an option, but I can't legally live in Thailand if my job is teaching online, can I? 

Thank you very much and have a nice day

Aurelien

I think you would find a degree in languages would be more desired than being a native speaker. Lots of Filipinos teach and English isn't their first language. You could always say you are English and traveling on a different passport.

Teaching online you wouldn't be telling anyone, and stay on whatever other Visa you may qualify for.

• Like 1
  • Confused 1
  • Sad 1

you might get around 20,000 baht and not be as respected as a native speaker at school.  you would hear your name and "non-native" quite often.  less pictures of you, less salary, but left alone since you are not regarded as important.  

if this doesn't bother you, then I think you will get a job.

i'm really not trying to be mean, I've been in enough schools.  maybe things have changed in the last few years.  

The TEFL won't help with anything, it's a waste of money and time.

The school I work at has 12 English teachers, only 5 of them are native, the others are all from European countries.

When schools can't fill the positions with native speakers, they have no problem hiring non-native if they are white and have a degree.

• Like 1

On 1/5/2021 at 5:51 PM, allane said:

There is no requirement for a TEFL course to teach legally in Thailand.  With a degree in Modern Languages, I think that you are already more than qualified.