Getting shocks off my 110v Mixer

Kenny202

Got a USA made 110v Kitchenaid mixer. All steel frame. PC board motor inside. Nothing touching frame etc that I can see. I have a fairly solid step down transformer which has done the job well for some time but only 2 pin on the mains side and a 2 pin outlet on the machine. Normally would be a 3 pin of course. Just noticed before getting a bit of a shock when I turn it on or touch the metal frame. Not like a full belt, but a bit more than a tingle I would say. Standing on tiles barefoot. 

I have converted as much as I can to 3 pin and all of our outlets are 3 pin (Renting home not owner). Believe it or not I am a qualified electrician but basically finished my apprenticeship and left for a different field 40 years ago. Is it possible I am getting shocks in the house from a neutral back feed or something? I mean even if an appliance is earthed you shouldn't be getting and voltage to frame from the appliance even if it is trickling away to earth right? I have lived in other houses here also had the same issues, tingles or zaps off any metallic framed appliances. For example I had a Macbook pro computer which runs off a 2 pin Power pack thing. Aluminum frame. Was getting tingles off it all the time. We are in an estate and I think the earthing is done outside at the post where the meters are. If I put a meter across active and earth I get a 220v reading so I assume this means we have an earth.

I was getting a zap off my electric guitar the other day plugged into an amp. The amp has a 3 pin plug, and the 4 outlet power board I was using has a 3 pin plug and 3 pin outlets, but after I opened it up there are only active / neutral connected to the actual 4 pin outlet housing lol. Doesn't even have an earth terminal. This was a factory made store bought power board!