background check for A-O visa

I just arrived in Thailand on Dec 18 on an O-A visa based on retirement.  I did my background check through the Washington State Patrol as I was a Washington Resident.  You must get fingerprinted which was easy, even with Covid.  The whole process took about two weeks and was painless and the folks I dealt with were very pleasant.  I imagine any state's process is similar.  

34 minutes ago, norcalherb said:

Hello all. I'm going to apply for my retirement visa online and through the LA Thai consulate. One requirement is an FBI background check.

Has anyone that applied for same visa do this, and how?

Thanks for any advice. 

Most all US states offer it thru the state police or most local police departments.  Don't do one from any of the on line 3rd party background check  companies as that won't be accepted. It has to come from a government agency 

@norcalherb > Not specifically related to your back-ground check question, but did PM you a Guideline on how to meet the mandatory IO-approved health-insurance requirement when applying for the Non Imm O-A Visa.

To access your PM messages just click the letter icon next to your profile when logged in to the Forum.

Fastest way to get an FBI fingerprint criminal background check is to go through an FBI Channeler.  One company is called applicantservices.com. Simple process: register, pay, and book an appointment at your nearest location to have your fingerprints digitally taken.  I have used this company twice in the last few years. I got an email in two hours and printed out my FBI background check.  

Cost is about $50 dollars.  In the past one could make the request directly with the FBI and submit an ink fingerprint card.  This can take weeks.  The LA Consulate has always accepted this background check. 

11 minutes ago, sqwakvfr said: