Looking for chickens

thaisail

Just starting up on a rice farm in Chiang Khan area and we want to buy about 5 chickens to lay eggs. The wife wants hybrid chickens that will lay larger eggs in huge quantities. I just want a normal chicken that can run free around the farm and lay nice organic eggs that taste good. Not the CP eggs which look nice but don't have that organic free range chicken egg taste. If anyone knows where I can buy chickens like this in Chiang Kahn or Loei area, let me know. My wife thinks buying the small chicks is a bad idea because they need their mother because of cold weather. Others say buying the small chicks is fine. I am a beginner so I don't know the right  way to get started but just want to keep the wife happy.

If you do get young chicks only, no mother, then you will need a heat lamp to keep them warm for a while.

You can also ask in FB, there's a group called  backyard chickens Thailand. 

• Like 1

We have the typical red "factory" hens along with a big white roo "Bruiser" (he was free). We got them point-of-lay, more expensive but you don't have to bear the mortality of the really young ones.

They happily free range with a secure coop at night and the eggs are delicious.

As noted above, get the chooks that madam wants for an easy life ???? 

• Like 1

33 minutes ago, FritsSikkink said:

If you want to keep the wife happy, you buy the chickens SHE wants.

But, what if she wants the wrong chickens? Then, later, she'd be unhappy. Why would you want to make her unhappy Frits? 

All in jest ????

Edited by djayz
  • Haha 2

56 minutes ago, djayz said:

If you do get young chicks only, no mother, then you will need a heat lamp to keep them warm for a while.

You can also ask in FB, there's a group called  backyard chickens Thailand. 

I have made a request to join. It looks like they are in Chiang Mai but I am in a different Chiang. Chiang Khan!

35 minutes ago, thaisail said: