Importing My Harley Davidson

selftaopath

Hello one and all. I am very new to Thaivisa and you have helped me already. I wonder if you have any knowleged/experience in importing items. The item in question is my 1974 (1000cc) Harley Davidson Sporster. I think it will be great "cruzin" the country in Isaan. We are planning on building in NongSung so any all advice a/b build/purchasing/hiring and getting my HD here will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again, Keoki

Here is the quick reply. Under no circumstances should you attempt to import your Harley. Dont do it, dont think about it, you will have your hands full building in NongSung.

You can buy a great Harley at Power Station in Bangkok. Only about twice what they retail for in the US if you are bound to ride one in Issan.

Sell your Harley and buy another in Thailand! Importing a bike is something for real professionals with 'connections'. Dealing with Thai custom and registration officers is nothing for newbees.

There are only second hand HDs here, the custum for a new one would be exorbitant. There is a good shop in Khon Kaen with 4 or 5 HDs in store, but you can order about what you want and they will find it for you. Honda and Yamaha choppers are often better value for your money.

Check 'Bangkok Riders' (google), a club of motor bike fans in BKK.

Regards

Thedi

ccarbaugh, Check out a place called Red Baron in Bangkok, they had a newish looking Lead wing, sorry, Gold Wing in their shop but I think the price was 1.3 million baht. The bloody thing was huge and don't think I could pick the bugger up if it were to fall on its' side. :o

Here is the quick reply. Under no circumstances should you attempt to import your Harley. Dont do it, dont think about it, you will have your hands full building in NongSung.

You can buy a great Harley at Power Station in Bangkok. Only about twice what they retail for in the US if you are bound to ride one in Issan.