New Zealand Maori leader ejected from parliament for not wearing a necktie

webfact

Back in the 1990s as a field engineer I had to wear a tie at the office, but as soon as the meetings were over I got in my company car, took my ie off and threw it in the back where it stayed until I got home on Friday.

Nobody could come up with a reason other than "You are a professional engineer, and all professionals wear a tie". Nobody could answer the question, does the tie make me a better engineer? When I came to work in Thailand, same company, same stupid rule. I went out to the market stalls and bought some of the gaudiest, flashiest and most revolting ties I could find and wore them to the office at Monday morning meetings.

My bosses didn't like that either and were definitely unimpressed when I said if they wanted me to wear proper ties I would, but I would expense them as essential business equipment.

A tie is useful as a sling or a tourniquet in an emergency but useless for every day wear.

• Like 2

I have no idea what the dress code is in the New Zealand parliment but if it calls for a neck tie

this guy is wrong.

If he would work on a construction site they would  make him wear safety gear(gloves,hardhat,safety shoes) in traffic he will have to wear a seatbelt and on a motorbike he would have to wear a helmet!

This is also a workplace so there may be a dress code.

I remember the Dutch prins Bernhard who took of his tie and shocked every one but that is another topic.

Edited by jvs
  • Confused 2
  • Sad 1

1 hour ago, webfact said:

New Zealand Maori leader ejected from parliament for not wearing a necktie

Like it or not, if there is a dress code then people participating should respect this code, I myself have be refused admission to places for this very point but I had to respect their point.

• Like 2
  • Sad 1

1 hour ago, webfact said: