Electricity supply

seajae

we have moved into a new house we had built and I have noticed that every time something is turned on/kicks in(water pump, air con, microwave, water heater etc) the PSU for the computer clicks  the same as when there is a power outage. Its as if the power  to the house  cannot  provide a strong enough supply to run everything, we are off the main road with 7 other houses(plus a set of workers sheds/accommodation) connected before the power gets to our house with the first house  around 100 metres from the road, does anyone have experience/knowledge of this sort of problem and what can be done.  

we are on the permanent  meter, will have to check on the transformer and the meter type, I have no idea so will take a pic of it and add it to this post, I have no knowledge of electrical stuff at all. Lights dont flicker, its just the PSU for the computer that is clicking everytime something turns on, didnt happen at the other house with the same PSU and computer set up at all apart from when we lost power/lines went out. Actually dont think there is a transformer on the lines at all but will go for a walk tomorrow and have a look to make sure and let you know, the  power line comes 20 metres into our property to a pole near the house as well.

DSCF9321.JPG

Edited by seajae

Rest assured, there will be a transformer somewhere, hopefully not too far away.

Good to see that your distribution board has an RCBO, that's usually the first thing to get missed off and is a vital safety device, this bodes well for the general quality of the rest of the installation.

Anything that draws a large start-up surge will cause a momentary dip in the supply voltage, if the supply is already a bit low then this may be enough to cause the UPS to do its job. Hence my question about whether you have a meter, one would be a handy thing to have anyway.