Renting out a townhouse. What to watch out for.

Looking for advice on how to rent out a townhouse. So recently purchased townhouse just finished bit of makeover etc.

Just to give full picture.....the townhouse is in my Thai partner's name and indeed I gifted her the townhouse. She (via using agent from facebook) secured a tenant instantly. The agent is just a 'tenant finder'. Does not do ongoing management. She does provide the contract (lease).

So my gf is currently changing the name on the utilities from previous owners name to hers.

I have zero experience or real estate management etc in Thailand however use property managers in Oz. Very different it seems. With rentals in Oz the utilities are in tenants name. 

Any advice regarding this aspect along with obtaining and using property manager greatly appreciated. Also any pitfalls to be aware of.

This was never a money making exercise. Mention that so that my questions won't be deflected into "why did you buy a townhouse" etc.

Thanks

Edited by DrJack54

Have her speak to neighbors regarding who does the maintenance if it's in a block . As mentioned above rent is via bank transfer. The tenant can pay the electricity and water from the monthly invoice sent to your letter box 

Edited by madmen
  • Thanks 1

10 minutes ago, phantomfiddler said:

A bad tenant will cause more damage than the rent will cover, plus headaches beyond imagination ????

My last tenant in the UK basically destroyed my house. Took me a year away from the wife to fix it all, replace windows and repaint it. Wasn't till he left I found all his presented documents were fake and that he had opened accounts in my name. 

Tenants are pot luck.