Bitcoin is now above usd$51k. If I want to sell in Thailand what about tax?

jack71

I have been living in Thailand for ages and used to be a teacher. Have paid tax here before but not in the last couple of yrs because I have not be working.

Years ago I sent money from my bank back in the mother country to an exchange in the States and purchased bitcoin. Actually I purchased it from a few exchanges and just held onto it. I passed KYC at a major exchange in the States years ago.

Im an non resident of my mother country for tax purposes so I know I dont have to pay any tax there.

But I assume I will have to pay it here? Otherwise if my bank starts to report large deposits from a thai exchange I could get into hot water...

I'm unsure how competent my local tax office will be with regards to reporting a capital gain on bitcoin. I suppose I should go via an 'accountant'.

Anyone have any knowledge on this subject

Thanks kindly and lets assume the next stop for BTC is usd100k by the end of 2021...

When I asked to my Thai broker about taxes on crypto profits, I was told that things are still unclear regarding this issue and that, at least for the time being, they were not reporting anything to the authorities regarding crypto transactions.

As for the bank, it doesn't care about money coming into your account, at least as long as it's not a very large amount.

So one could say that if you keep a low profile, no more than a few hundred thousand bahts at a time, you should be able to cash in tax free.

Taxes may be a question.  You may have to pay capital gains.

Up to you but I would sell nothing in fact I would/am buying.

Lots of info. out there but this is an article from Forbes:

In December, a leaked Citi report revealed one of the bank's senior analysts thinks bitcoin could potentially hit a high of $318,000 by December 2021, calling it "21st century gold."

Gold has been going down as BTC increases.

Where do you think the money is going?

• Like 2