I just got offered a teaching job for 30k baht a month salary.

jack71

It depends on how much you need the job, either swallow your pride and accept the offer in the expectation of getting a better salary later there or elsewhere, or stick to your guns.

IMO "after a while" is a very elastic concept, I would be insisting on a defined time period for your probation.

• Like 2

23 hours ago, jack71 said:

I was at the top government primary school in my city and they were keen to recruit me after telling them that I'm a qualified teacher. This is the school that ALL parents want to send their kids. They have EP program and a Maths/Science program.

They said that due to the covid lockdown, they were finding it hard to recruit foreign teachers to the school. I asked the salary and they told me 30k a month. 

I was surprised because I remember a teacher from the school telling me a few yrs ago that they pay 40k a month. I think they noticed I was surprised about the low salary

and then said that after a while the salary can get increased. 

Surely its a supply / demand situation and if they are desperate they should just pay the higher salaries from the start?  30k a month is very low and I think its a 10 to 20 year old government salary level. 

I would like to earn above 40k a month to satisfy the requirements for permanent residency. 

cheers

Jack

I make that kind of money but was told that they only consider 80K + for PR, nowhere to find that requirement but been told after 17 years getting a "no" and "do not qualify"  year after year. Ubon Joe? 40 K is the minimum for people married on an non O.

On 3/6/2021 at 3:32 PM, jack71 said:

I was at the top government primary school in my city and they were keen to recruit me after telling them that I'm a qualified teacher. This is the school that ALL parents want to send their kids. They have EP program and a Maths/Science program.

Then they should be paying you more than 30k THB.

• Like 2