In search of U.S. notary services in Phuket

Major Payne

I am an American living in the Phuket area. I am just beginning escrow on a house I am selling in the US to my brother. The Escrow Company tells me I need to go to the US Embassy to notarize the documents.. Does anyone know how I can get these escrow documents notarized without having to go all the way to Bangkok.? Any advice much appreciated. Thank you

Unfortunately you will need to go to the US Embassy in Bangkok.  You can make a notary appointment on-line through the embassies citizens services webpage.  Hope it all works out well for you.

Notary Services | U.S. Embassy & Consulate in Thailand

Last I looked they were about a month out on the appointment calendar.

Make an Appointment | U.S. Embassy & Consulate in Thailand 21 appointments on April 6th as of right now.

image.png.0aef88045f8fcc464e3b00ad8e3ddfe6.png

Edited by ThailandRyan

ThailandRyan is correct. You'll need to get your documents notarized at the US embassy.  I had a similar situation a few years back, when selling my father's home in the US. I traveled to Bangkok and received the documents via FedEx at a hotel there. Took them to the US embassy to be notarized ($50 a pop if I recall correctly), then FedEx'd them back to the US. The whole process took about 5 days including shipping the documents back and forth. Not convenient, but there's really no choice.

Yes, it will need to be at the embassy.

That said, you might want to research whether the state of the document in question will allow online notarization. It varies state by state but there has been more flexibility because of the pandemic. But your state might allow it but still need you to be in state for the online session, so I wouldn't get your hopes up. You might think the escrow company would have suggested that if possible but if I were you I would  at least do my own research first.