Varifocal glasses

toast1

I've been using the brand Crizal for over 15 years. No complains about it so far. I guess this is not to top most expensive brand, but it is not cheap - this brand also have different categories at different prices.

On cheap lenses, I've noticed discolouration, scratches and fragility.

• Thanks 1

I just replaced my varifocals last weekend.  Superb vision, especially reading my PC monitor.   I discovered that my previous lenses had the wrong prescription for the mid range vision.  I had been wondering why i had to squint so much.

They are Hoya lenses (I don't know what specific type) and the slightly thicker and cheaper lenses (1.5? 1.6?).  The shop is owned by the family an old student of mine from 10 years ago so the lenses were only 6,500 baht to me.  I was going to have them put in my old frames but he offered me a very nice light titanium frame with very bendy side pieces for 2,000 baht instead of 2,800 so the lot came to 8,500 baht.

If you want to check it out the shop is right next to the Silom Centre under Sala Daeng BTS station.   I am not sure if I can mention the name in English but in Thai it's ธนาคารแว่น (ta-na-karn-wan).  

Best money I have spent in many a year.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

2 hours ago, Mister Fixit said:

I just replaced my varifocals last weekend.  Superb vision, especially reading my PC monitor.   I discovered that my previous lenses had the wrong prescription for the mid range vision.  I had been wondering why i had to squint so much.

They are Hoya lenses (I don't know what specific type) and the slightly thicker and cheaper lenses (1.5? 1.6?).  The shop is owned by the family an old student of mine from 10 years ago so the lenses were only 6,500 baht to me.  I was going to have them put in my old frames but he offered me a very nice light titanium frame with very bendy side pieces for 2,000 baht instead of 2,800 so the lot came to 8,500 baht.