How important in a good pre-amp?

jaffacakes1

My Linn Kolektor pre amp has suddenly died. I am using it in conjunction with my Linn Power Amp and B&W Nautilus speakers. Primarily for TV.

Replacing the pre-amp is going to be too expensive and I cannot find an audio repair shop in Phuket so have decided to purchase a different pre amp so I can enjoy TV audio and general digital music.

My question is this. The set up I have is great , but now lacking a pre-amp. Is there a difference in quality between pre-amps beyond functionality.I cannot see how one pre amp is better than another from an audioplhile perspective as having lifted the lid it is simply some small circuit boards routing the inputs.

Given this is primarily to be used for TV I figured the option to include a sub woofer might be handy.

Do pre -amps differ in quality so substantially? Does anyone have a recommendation for a pre-amp with around 3 inputs ? 

Thanks in advance

Chris 

Lets start that I am not an expert but I know the basics.

If you want expert advice I suggest you visit ASR https://www.audiosciencereview.com/ There are lots of experts and not just people who think they have golden ears.

Any device like a CD-Player or a TV has outputs which can't be used to power speakers. They have often RCA connectors. 

A power amplifier uses a small input signal (maybe less than 1V, maybe from a CD player) and amplifies that a lot so that you can supply speakers with many watts of power. Many power amplifiers have nothing to adjust. Just an on/off switch and maybe a volume control.

If you use only one source device like i.e. a CD-player then you don't absolutely need a pre-amp. You can connect the device directly to the power amp and it will work. Just make sure you can adjust the volume at least on one device.