Denied teaching license waiver after teaching 8 years

I have been teaching at the same secondary school for 8 years now. I have a BA in English Communications and an MA TESOL. I was informed that Khurusapha will not issue another waiver for me because 4 two-year waivers is the limit.

Is there any way I can stay at my current school? 

I understand that I could work at a university with my MA qualification and wouldn't need a teaching license but I'd prefer to stay at the high school if possible.

Thanks for your help!

You should have known that 4 was the limit. The waivers were intended to give you time to qualify, in essence get a degree in education. That is what you should do between now and the end of your waiver.

Have a look at doing a PGCE to qualify. Several threads about that.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

If you want to stay at the same high school (which i am assuming falls under Krusapah licensing jurisdiction) then you MUST get a proper license - there’s no legal workaround... that said, there have been threads about trying to “modify” your job title to something that might not require a licenses - but that, to me, isn’t a viable idea nor one that i would personally place a lot of faith in.

as noted, the idea behind the temporary 2yr waivers is to give you the time to get all your requirements completed so that you’re eligible for and receive a “permanent” license.

So, in my mind, unless you can somehow demonstrate to TCT that there is some reason that has prevented you from getting fully licensed — over the past eight (8) years — I personally doubt they’ll change their mind at this point. 

• Like 1

You have a master's degree in TESOL, Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages. Unless it strictly needs to be a MEd, you might qualify for the teacher's license. 

Edited by ThLT

2 hours ago, Hanuman2547 said: