LED circuit problem

pizzachang

Hi all,

Since I'm a novice pcb user/builder, I seem to have made a mistake in my LED project. I did, to the best of my understanding, follow the schematic accurately for the project. Basically, it's a 4 separate array (48 each array) intended to be used as an extension signalling light, powered by another unit. What I'd like to do, is have someone with enough knowledge to test and explain what I'm doing wrong. I can add that all the pieces I built, do function, e.g. all the LEDs light individually and in their resistor strings, but when I connect the original signalling unit, nothing happens. Monetary compensation is not a problem.

Thanks in advance.

9 minutes ago, Crossy said:

Can you post a couple of photos of what you've built?

Did you design and etch the boards or are they commercial boards which you've just populated?

The pcb's I used are double-sided [commercially available]and the 48 LED arrays should come on either 1 or 2 arrays at a time, according to the signal received. The original sending unit provides + or - 5 volts, when the LEDs are triggered and 0 volts at rest

Edited by pizzachang

I was thinking more of photos of the actual works to see what standard it's built to and what the boards look like.

If you ground each output of the 2803 does the relevant string light?

Have you got 15V on the "common" and 0V on the "gnd" of the 2803?

If you put 3-5V on each input of the 2803 does anything happen?

1 minute ago, pizzachang said:

The original sending unit provides + or - 5 volts

Your 2803 is not going to like having -5V on any inputs, are you sure that's what's coming from the controller? 

2 minutes ago, Crossy said:

Your 2803 is not going to like having -5V on any inputs, are you sure that's what's coming from the controller? 

I think that means up to 5 volts.   If you're interested, we could meet up somewhere in CM and you can examine what I've done. I have plenty of testing stuff.