creating an offline wallet for your cryptos

watgate

I understand that once you purchase cryptos on an exchange it is best to put them in an offline wallet so as to be safe from any potential hackers. Can someone guide me as to how to create a paper wallet and what steps are needed to safely store your crypto offline in your paper wallet. I am an obvious novice when it comes to  this. Thanks for any info.

most cryptocurrencies have a "private key" of the address, which looks like a string of letters and numbers, with length usually less then 100 symbols; something like "5Kxg62skHMn1BB3dVWq4YcF8B4uUqfoY5utv3oo4azWPy0fpogdVq"

if you have received coins to the different addresses then you will need to export the private key of each separate address.

some wallets have a "recovery seed" of all addresses combined, which looks like a dozen of words that are intended to be easily remembered, something like "charge cook oval horse noble clap exotic scrap noble solution wheel zone".

first determine how to export private keys or export the recovery seed from your particular wallet program, and then print these keys/seeds on an A4 sheet (repeating multiple times is recommended, to store in different geographic locations for safety).

then you could laminate the A4 sheet (or "laminate" it with a clean duct tape), separate and store in safe location outside your house.

also note that storing seeds or keys "as is" is not very secure as whoever finds them could understand what these symbols are and could steal your coins by importing these keys/seeds to their wallets.

I recommend encrypting the keys/seeds with PGP and printing PGP text instead of plain keys/seeds. But then again - you will need to print a backup of PGP private key and store it in the different geographic location for safety.

Edited by fdsa
  • Haha 1

Couple of Interesting snippets from Wikipedia.