Confused: Buying after IPO is a complex instrument?

I tried to buy a stock tonight, Global E.

An announcement popped up saying," Your account isn't set up for complex instruments. You need to fill out this form to set it up"

The form was to acknowledge the risks of these complex instruments.

It just IPOd yesterday. I don't see what is risky or what makes it a complex instrument.

Is it cos of the lock up period?

I wasn't using margin or buying options. I have been buying stock for 5 years. I always stay away from that stuff. I just like buying shares.

Thanks

Edited by 2009

Yes, it means you need to be a qualified investor to buy those instruments

because of the highly speculative nature of IPOs in the early days, retail investors are locked out by most brokers (maybe with a few exceptions), it's mostly for big institutions and big players

your broker will ask you to fill a form with question regarding your knowledge and level of wealth to determine if they can change your "investor profile" to "qualified investor"

it's an investor protection measure, perfectly legitimate.

Edited by GrandPapillon

3 hours ago, GrandPapillon said:

because of the highly speculative nature of IPOs in the early days, retail investors are locked out by most brokers (maybe with a few exceptions), it's mostly for big institutions and big players

your broker will ask you to fill a form with question regarding your knowledge and level of wealth to determine if they can change your "investor profile" to "qualified investor"

Thank you

So the only risk here is that it is an IPO?

So, the total risk is that the stock could go to zero?

I don't have to cover my position (with margin) or anything like that?

I don't use margin anyway. I just want to buy the shares

Could it be that I can't sell for 180 days after buying? Is that why extra measures are taken?

Edited by 2009

4 hours ago, GrandPapillon said: