Remote Control Ceiling Fans and Lightning

I have lost 2 remote control ceiling fans in separate incidents after nearby lightning strikes.  Hear a loud "pop" and no smell of anything burning but does not work after.  The first time the main breaker kicked, the second time breaker did not kick.  Nothing else in the house was affected.  The ceiling fan is bolted to a metal beam.  Why is it only the ceiling fans that gets zapped and nothing else?  

Know what you mean. Whilst I have no technical knowledge to be able to answer your question I did have it happen to me many years ago in a house in Bangkok.  When I investigated why it was not working I found that the fan did have a 3 wire system but rather than the earth wire being connected to an earthing circuit ( which the house didn't have ) it was just fixed by a screw into one of the steel joists. Now whether the house took a strike and that was what caused that fan to fail possibly popping the circuit board of the fan and the IR receiver part of it I don't know. 

53 minutes ago, HarrySeaman said:

And this is just one more reason why I don't want a bunch of remote controlled lights and fans.  A simple wall switch or pull chain switch works fine, will likely outlast the light or fan, and doesn't require batteries.

Think I am going to try one wired to the wall switch, no remote.  If that one gets zapped will just get a floor fan. 

7 hours ago, bankruatsteve said:

Voltage spikes and highly ionized air can/will take out sensitive components.  When unlucky to have nearby strike, there's nothing you could have done to prevent damage.

Yes, a voltage surge is the most likely cause. I lost 2 electric shower units that way then I put in a breaker adjacent to the shower, the one the builder fitted is in the consumer unit. I noticed it the second time, the surge was not weather related, just a normal afternoon and I heard the fans speed up and return to normal. that evening the shower did not work.