Cholesterol reducing drugs

Inderpland

I've been on cholesterol reducing drugs for years and the imported type the doctor put me on is quite expensive. I know there are generic versions of this type of drugs being sold in pharmacies that are quite cheap so my question is does anyone here have any knowledge of their efficacy and safety?

Lipitor will be the most expensive.

Several generics available.  I have tried several I take 10 mg.  They all seem to be about the same

my numbers are consistent for the past few years.

Currently using Sandoz brand which is one of the largest generic drug manufacturers in the world.  About 1/3 the cost of Lipitor from what I remember.

Edited by bkk6060
  • Like 2

I have been using Livalo 2mg for the past six months. This is what my doctor at Bumrungrad told me to use. I purchased at my local pharmacy in Asoke.  30 tablets were 769 baht.  Im not sure if that is a good price or not.

Edited by swm59nj
removed a sentence

5 minutes ago, cmarshall said:

Niacin (nicotinic acid) can be used to control cholesterol.  Can be ordered from endur.com at about USD 80 for a year's supply.

Not a good idea for most from my reading - that is very old method and not considered safe - many bad side effects and dangers and my mother experienced them.  

https://health.clevelandclinic.org/can-niacin-be-harmful-to-control-cholesterol/

https://www.livescience.com/46839-dangers-of-niacin.html

38 minutes ago, mahtin said:

Thought the cholesterol myth had been debunked.

An important hint.

Before simply continuing or even changing medication I suggest to have a blood test for the liver function and let a doctor decide what is necessary or not.

• Like 2

8 minutes ago, KhunBENQ said:

An important hint.

Before simply continuing or even changing medication I suggest to have a blood test for the liver function and let a doctor decide what is necessary or not.